Intestinal villi stained with WGA
    Image courtesy of Dr. Vesta Valuckaite

    Our Mission

    The Microscopy Core was created in 1997 to serve the University of Chicago's research community. The facility was established to provide state-of-the-art microscopy imaging stations that would otherwise be prohibitively expensive for individual laboratories to obtain on their own. Though we are not a service facility (i.e. we do not routinely perform experiments the users), we will provide assistance on the imaging aspects of the user's experiment. We have developed a strong and broad base of users and continue to train new users. Cancer Center and Digestive Disease members receive a discount via co-payments from their center grants.

    Technical Directors

    Vytas Bindokas, PhD; Facility Director and Technical Director, AB-129. Dr. Bindokas serves as full-time director of all Core operations and directs day-to-day operations at the Abbott 129 location. He has over 35 years experience (via four institutions) in light microscopy methods, specializing in physiologic measurements including ratiometric probes, FRET, confocal techniques and image analysis. He has been at the University of Chicago for over 20 years (Research track equivalent to Associate Professor) and has over 70 peer-reviewed publications.

    Christine Labno, PhD; Assistant Facility Director and Technical Director, Knapp Center Room 1250. Dr. Labno received her PhD in 2005 at the University of Chicago Department of Pathology, specializing in immunostaining (including antibody generation) and cytoskeletal biology. She has worked in the Core for 10 years, gaining experience in confocal techniques, TIRF microscopy and superresolution microscopy. She has created a number of online tutorials for image processing with ImageJ, teaches the Facility's two ImageJ classes and leads a monthly ImageJ Macro Writing Workshop.

    Shirley Bond, MA; Technical Director, Knapp Center Room 1250. Shirley serves as a Technical Director of the Knapp Center for Biomedical Discovery site. She has over 30 years experience in light microscopy - over 18 years of which were spent at the University of Chicago. Earlier she served 11 years at the University of Illinois Medical Center where she was involved in research and in clinical immunopathology. Shirley also worked as a research microscopist for several years and trained under Anna Teetsov.

    Faculty Advisory Committee

    Benjamin Glick, PhD; Scientific Director. Professor, Dept. of Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology; Cancer Research Center and Institute for Biophysical Dynamics.

    Victoria Prince, PhD; Advisory Committee Chair. Dean and Director, Office of Graduate Affairs and Professor, Dept. of Organismal Biology and Anatomy and Committees on Development, Regeneration and Stem Cell Biology; Genetics, Genomics and Systems Biology; Neurobiology; Molecular Metabolism and Nutrition; and Evolutionary Biology.

    Stephen Kron, MD. Professor, Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology, Committees on Genetics, Genomics and Systems Biology; Cancer Biology; Clinical Pharmacology and Pharmacogenomics; and Molecular Medicine and The College.

    Kay Macleod, PhD. Associate Professor, The Ben May Dept. for Cancer Center Research and Committees on Cancer Biology; Developmental Biology; Immunology; Molecular Medicine and Nutrition and co-leader, Program 1 of the UCCCC.

    Clifton Ragsdale, PhD. Associate Professor, Dept. of Neurobiology; IDDRC Co-Director.

    Marsha Rosner, PhD. Charles B. Huggins Professor and Chair, Ben May Dept. for Cancer Research and Committees on Cancer Biology; Cell and Molecular Physiology; Developmental Biology; and Cell and Molecular Medicine.

    Eric Schwartz, MD. Professor and Chair, Dept. of Pharmacology and Physiology.

    Gopal Thinakaran, PhD. Professor, Dept. of Neurobiology; secondary appointments in Depts. of Neurology and Pathology.

    Xiaoyang Wu, PhD. Assistant Professor, Ben May Department for Cancer Research

    Office of Shared Research Facilities

    As part of the University of Chicago's Office of Shared Research Facilities (OSRF), we are open to all members of the University community. The mission of the OSRF is to provide centralized areas of technology and expertise in a wide variety of services to support the research efforts of the University faculty. The demonstrated needs of the faculty are the driving force behind new developments in existing facilities and in the development of new facilities

    Center Grant Support

    The facility receives financial support from two University Research Cores: The University of Chicago Comprehensive Cancer Center under the direction of Dr. Michelle LeBeau and the Digestive Diseases Research Core Center under the direction of Dr. Eugene Chang.